Why do girls always get excited for their sweet 16 birthday? This question has always baffled me, and today, I am going to try to explain it to you guys!

This is what I found on Wikipedia:

A sweet sixteen is a coming of age party celebrating a teenager’s 16th birthday in North America, primarily in the United States and Canada. A sweet sixteen is similar to a quinceañera. Like a wedding, this event can be formal, casual, or semi-formal.

Sweet sixteens can range from modest parties at home with close family to large affairs with a hired DJ, makeup, hair styling, expensive gowns and dresses, and hotel ballrooms. Even if it is a small party, the main purpose of the party is to celebrate the person becoming “older” and entering a different stage of their life. Typically this is the last big birthday party a teenager would have. Although it is common that Sweet Sixteens are mostly celebrated for girls, they can also be celebrated for boys.

I suppose then, that a Sweet 16 birthday party is your coming of age/becoming a woman part, but I feel like that has changed over the years, and now people just use the name as an excuse to have a big party.

With all of that said, today is my birthday!

When Anne and I applied for pen pals through Focus on the Family, they chose us for each other because our birthdays are two days apart, and we are both girls. Anne’s birthday, as you know, is February 3rd, and mine is February 5th,  so she is two days older than me. 😄

img_2982

I am really excited to be 16. I feel like with that age comes a lot of new responsibilities, and a new expectation is set for you, and I am really looking forward to live up to my age. This year, there are a lot of big things coming my way! I will be just a step away from receive my Student Black Belt in Kajukenbo Tum Pai, I will be planning for after I graduate high school… I am really excited, guys!

-Brooke

5 thoughts on “Sweet 16

Leave a Reply

