Everyone in their life struggles with forgiveness. No matter how much you may want to tell yourself you are perfect, you just aren’t. I’m sorry. It’s the plain, naked truth.

Sometimes I don’t want to tell myself that I haven’t forgiven someone. I desperately want to forget about it, so that I don’t have to forgive them. That isn’t the way it works, though.

The first step to forgiveness is realizing your sin. You have to take a step back from life and think about it. Realize that you have sinned, and then determine to fix that.

Second, you need to make yourself right with God, because you can’t have the relationship he wants you to have with him if you are holding hurt/angry feelings against someone else.

Third, no matter how hard it is, you have to forgive the person. God has forgiven you, He even sent His own Son down to earth to save you from your sins! Even though it seems like the end of the world when you have to admit your wrong, it isn’t. Just remember what God did for you.

I am still working my way through this… I don’t often hold bad feelings against people, but sometimes it is just too hard to forgive someone. I have been holding on to my anger for almost five years, and it’s weighing me down. I didn’t even realize I was holding this pain until three years ago. I have seen how it has affected my life. I want to get rid of it, but the only way to do that is to admit “I was wrong. I’m sorry.”

Is there someone you are having a hard time forgiving? Do you not know where to start in your forgiveness process? Here is a collection of verses from the Bible. Go pull your Bible out and search these verses to help you.

  • 2 Thesalonians 1:11

  • Ephasians 6:10-17

  • Psalm 103:8-12

  • 2 Corinthians 5:17

  • Colossians 2:13

  • 1 John 1:9

  • Colossians 3:13

  • Psalm 31:24

  • Psalm 121:7-8

  • 2 Thessalonians 1:11

  • James 1:19-20

  • Proverbs 15:1

  • Colossians 3:8-10

  • Ephesians 4:31-32

  • Philippians 4:8

-Brook
3 thoughts on “Forgiveness

Leave a Reply

