>Anne<

Ghost in the Graveyard…?

Every so often, my grandfather will take a few of us kids to Pennsylvania to plant flowers around graves of our relatives.
One year, my younger sister Grace and I decided to go with him on his upcoming trip. Our brother had told us that there was a tomb at the cemetery, and we wanted to see it.
So, we went with our grandfather and planted flowers around the graves. After we were done, we told our grandfather of how we wanted to see the tomb. He pointed to the top of a hill where we could see part of the tomb He told us he would drive around to the other side, and we could meet him there after we saw it.
Grace and I were very excited as we trudged up the hill with our camera and flashlight
When we finally reached the tomb, we were rather scared. Five cement steps led down to the tomb door.
Slowly, we descended them, and I began a video on my camera.
Cautiously, we walked to the metal door and looked in.
At the left there was a shelf… a coffin laid on that shelf.
That alone freaked us out.
All of a sudden, we heard a rustling sound within the tomb!
I exclaimed, “Grace? What was that?!”
Without a word, she took off up the steps, screaming as loudly as she could!
This startled me, because I wasn’t expecting her to do so. I took off running after her and we both ran down the hill and jumped into our grandfather’s car.
We never knew what that noise was.
I convinced Grace that it was a rodent of some sort, but sometimes I wonder…
How did it get in a sealed tomb with only a small broken window?
The sound we heard was made by something large…
Something too large to fit through a broken window…
Was it a rodent at all?

Leave a Reply

